Well, this is new and doesn’t at all smell like finger printing

For context: I’m already logged in on my phone (and this PC has logged into FB before also). So, how does that work, exactly? Log out, try to log in from phone…same issue, as now BOTH devices are logged out?
Hmm. Near as I can tell, this is due to clearing cookies recently / history. Having said that, I’ve cleared cookies thousands of times before and been able to log in just fine. Which therefore suggests…what… policy change server-side, not a coincidence? I’m on the same hardware, same browser, same IP. FB appears to have changed what counts as “trusted.”
PS: Yeah, I hate FB too. It’s the only way I have to communicate with some folks. Believe me, given the option, I’d make em all use Signal or XMPP.


Ive had to come to terms with that.
One of the conditions was to make sure google photos etc. auto backup options were off so nothing ends up in AI training data but at a certain point I cant personally inspect everyones phones to see if theyve opted out of apples auto opt in photo scanning and shit like that.
It gets tiring to say “hang on wait, have you got XYZ disabled” every time before someone wants to take their own photos, which I would love if people just used their brains in the first place.
The most reasonable thing I can do is set ground rules like secure communication channels and no social media posts etc. and especially no AI but I suspect these rules have been broken at some point.